Basket with Hedgehog

My “Basket with Hedgehog” is finished and ready to frame (or whatever)!  I really like it. The back is not as neat as I’d wished, but I will work on that in my next project. 

I learned a couple of things while working on this project:

  1. Working on good quality material makes a big difference.  The M.C.G. Textile material was so nice, I purchased more for my next project.
  2. Use a highlighter to mark the stitches you’ve completed.  It was really hard for me to know which stitches were done and which still needed worked before I started to use a highlighter.
  3. Wearing lightweight reading glasses over my bifocals worked as good or better than using the magnifying glass on a rope around my neck.  I could still read the pattern and watch TV without having to adjust the magnifier.
  4. Always work with good lighting.  It’s easier to see the stitches and the differences in color shades.
  5. Using the right size needle is important.  You don’t want to use too large of a needle, as it will make large holes in your cloth.
  6. Let your needle “dangle and twirl” every little while.  The thread twists with each stitch and so your stitches will not look as nice if you don’t.
  7. To keep the edges of your work from fraying either use a zig-zag stitch around or use masking tape.
  8. Never store your needle in an area that will not be worked later.  You do not want to leave a hole.
  9. Don’t work on your stitching when you are tired.  That is when mistakes are made.
  10. Take your time, do it slow and enjoy what you are doing.

I love Ellen Maurer Stroh patterns!  She offers many free designs, as well as having wonderful designs for sale.  Basket with Hedgehog is just one of many.

One Response to “Basket with Hedgehog”

  1. Batty Says:

    Wow, he’s so cute!


Leave a Reply

