Crocheted Baby Layette

My daughters friend had a baby girl on Sunday and I was happy to make a few things for her to give to the new little one.  Being it is spring and the baby is a girl, I knew just what I wanted to make!  My favorite spring layette is crocheted.  I’ve made many of these complete sets, including the blanket, that the mom’s love to use for christenings or other special days.  This one I made thinking of Easter in another 2 weeks. 

The pattern is in a Leisure Arts little book I bought at Wal-Mart.  I have also found the same book at both JoAnn’s and Michael’s.  It is on the cover of  Baby Layettes and Afghans (10 projects).  The sweater is easy to make and fits a newborn nicely.  I’ve made it in white and sparkle white.  Both are gorgeous!  This time I made it in Lemon yellow for a dark-haired sweetheart.   Just as beautiful!

I used Bernat Baby Softee sport yarn.  The sacque took about 4 ounces of the 5 ounce skein.  I also made the bonnet. The booties are knit with the same crocheted pattern for the edging.  The headband is my own pattern.

I will share more of my baby goodies through the week.

Leave a Reply

