Walks ~ Willow Trees & Kids Books

Good Morning.  Yesterday was such a nice day for being outside.  While walking with the dogs at the State Park I came across an old Willow Tree.  Willows are such an interesting tree to look at with their huge knotted & crooked trunks.  It reminded me about the kids book  The Berenstain Bears and the Spooky Old Tree by Stan Berenstain.  This was one of my kids favorite books when they were growing up.  If you aren’t familiar with the author I highly recommend any and all of his kids books. 

This got me wondering and thinking about Willow Trees in general.  There are so many references to them in Literature.  Hans Christian Anderson wrote about them in Under the Willow Tree, J. R. R. Tolkien’s book The Lord of the Rings has the character “Old Man Willow” and more recently, J. K. Rowling writes about the “Whomping Willow” in her Harry Potter Series.

The Willow Tree is never made to look friendly and inviting.  It is always sinister looking and alive – like the branches are going to lean down and grab you.  I think that is why it is so prevalent in Folklore and myths.

I’m glad I live by the water where these trees grow.  I can’t wait to come back on another beautiful day with a good book and blanket, lean against its foreboding trunk and relax. 

Enjoy your day and I would love to hear from any of you about Willow Trees – folklore, myths, literature & experience!

Leave a Reply

