Receiving Blankets

One thing I’ve learned over the years is that store-bought receiving blankets are never big enough!  If you just plan on covering the baby up with one, fine.  But, try bundling a baby up in one. Their little feet and legs wiggle out and they seem to be all bunched up.  That is one reason I started making my own.  Besides, who doesn’t like something handmade!  They are certainly nicer and less expensive.

Receiving blankets are easy to make.  I make most of mine out of flannel material.  One yard of material will make one blanket with enough left over to make a toy or bib or other small matching gift to give.  My blankets are 36″ square. 

One package of blanket binding will make 2 blankets.  I cut the blanket binding down the center for a thin silk edge to the blanket. The hardest part for me is sewing on the binding. 

I am NOT a seamstress.  My mom was.  I only dabble.  I don’t make anything that has to be fitted or worn in public.  I did make nightgowns for my girls when they were little, but that is about it.  I enjoy making small gift items for others – nothing very complicated. 

The receiving blanket pictured is one given recently with other items I’ve been sharing.  I hope by my sharing my projects with you that I have given you some ideas for gift giving yourself.  If you ever have any questions about how I do something or anything else, please let me know.  Or, if you have ideas or additions to mine, please feel free to share.  I love hearing from you!

Leave a Reply

