Acadian Shawl

Knit Acadian Shawl

I love to make shawls.  When I am searching through patterns to get ideas on what to make next, I always find myself stopping and admiring a shawl.  I don’t know why I find them so attractive and interesting.  I’m not a person who wears them often or even has the opportunity to wear them out much.   I just love shawls; knit shawls, crocheted shawls, it matters not.  
 
My latest shawl is this Acadian Shawl, by Melisa McCurley.   It is available as a free Ravelry download.   Melisa suggests worsted weight yarn for this project with size US 8 needles.   It is a well written pattern that has a chart to use for the decorative edge.  
 
What attracted me to this particular shawl pattern is that it is not the typical rectangle or triangle shawl.   I love the plain but rich looking design with the decorative edging.  
 
I made mine with Naturally Caron- Spa in beige, a DK weight that is 75% acrylic and 25% bamboo on size US 7 needles.  The yarn is very soft and is a bit “splitty”, but I like it anyway.  I had to block my shawl when I was finished because it curled so bad.  I probably shouldn’t have used the yarn I did.  I would love to know if anyone else who has made this shawl has had this problem.  If not, what yarn did you use? 

Acadian Shawl-decorative edge

Acadian Shawl

 I have not worn my newest shawl yet.  I hope to get some use out of it this spring and summer.  Maybe I’ll just wear it sitting on the deck in the backyard.  

One Response to “Acadian Shawl”

  1. knittinpeace Says:

    […] I spent my free time knitting a lovely little shawl  from Ravelry (Acadian Shawl ). […]


Leave a Reply

