The start of the V-Neck Cable Sweater

Debbie Bliss's V-Neck Sweater in Simply Baby

What a busy week-end!  A fun-filled week-end spent with family and best of all – grandkids! 

I also made it to JoAnn’s.  I’m finding all of the stores around me are carrying fewer brands of yarn and less choices of colors in the weight of yarn I am looking for.  What a shame.  I know I could buy on-line, but I like to feel the yarn and see the color choices in person. 

I needed sport weight yarn for the v-neck sweater in Debbie Bliss’s Simply Baby book.  I am making the 24 month size for the little guys 1st birthday.  It should fit him through the winter.  His birthday is not until July, but I just felt like getting started.  After thoroughly searching down every aisle of yarn, I finally decided on Lion Brand Baby Soft in Pistachio with white trim. It is a really pretty green and I am sure it will look nice on him.   The skeins are 5 oz. each, so I got 3 skeins just to make sure I have enough.  The yarn is 60% acrylic and 40% nylon.  I have not used this yarn before, so I am excited to see how it works up.  If I have enough yarn leftover I thought a matching pair of socks would look really cute.  We will see.

I did get a chance to start on the sweater yesterday and I am really pleased with the results so far.  Have a look.   

Back of v-neck cable sweater

Pistachio

 
Leave a Reply

