Importance of Checking your Gauge

 This past week was a frustrating and stressful one for many reasons.   I won’t bore you or bring you down by whining and complaining, but I will share my knitting disappointment.

As you know, I started on Debbie Bliss’s  v-neck cable sweater for my grandson.  I went shopping, spent (what seemed like to my family) hours (they exaggerate) picking out just the right yarn and color.  The little guys 1st birthday isn’t until July, but I was excited to get started.  So I casted on and began knitting. 

What I didn’t do was check my gauge.  My error!  A huge error!  I’ve been knitting long enough to know better.  Why didn’t I check my gauge?  How long would it have taken?  No, I didn’t bother until I was almost finished with the back. Only two more inches to go.

As I was admiring my work, I was thinking that it looked a little narrow for a 24 month size.  I got out my tape measure and checked my gauge.  Something I should have done when I started.  Something I neglected to do out of laziness.  Yes, I admit it, I was lazy. 

What did my laziness cost me?  R r r r r i p!  I now get to start all over.  I am going to go up one needle size.  That should do it.  Live and learn.  Only one problem.  I’ve been living and learning for many years.  Shouldn’t that have been a lesson I learned long ago?  Is it that I am a slow learner or just old and forgetful?  Or ? ? 

I don’t think I am going to start on it this week.  I’ll take a week off and do something else.  I’ve got a few other projects that are supposed to be finished before the little guys birthday sweater. 

Lesson learned or the moral of the story:  CHECK YOUR GAUGE!!!!  Will I remember next time?  Time will tell.

Leave a Reply

