Day 1 of Blog Week: Starting Out

My 1st Knitting/Crocheting Book

 As many of you are aware from reading my “Why I Do What I Do”, my maternal grandmother taught me to knit when I was very young.  I started out on big wooden needles and a ball of yarn.  I would knit a little every time I went to see her, never really making anything.  She taught me the basics: how to cast on, knit, purl, bind off, and the hardest of all – fixing your mistakes.     

It wasn’t until I was older and settling down with my own family that I took up knitting as a hobby of my own.  I wanted to make some things for my home and babies.  It was then that I had my mom’s help and that of a couple of books.  I still have my first book (see photo).  I think it was then that I began to appreciate what my grandmother had been doing all those years.  The more I knit, the more I wanted to learn.  Knitting is addictive! But, a good addiction.   

My 1st real project was a sweater for my husband.  I purchased really nice gold wool yarn.  It took forever to make and I was so pleased (and proud) with how well it turned out.  He loved it – wore it – washed it – and, yes – dried it – in the dryer!  I never made him another item from wool (or anyone else), because he is a slow learner and still continues to try to “help” me with the wash.  That was 39 years ago.  So that is why I use the dreaded acrylic yarn and cotton.     

When I was about 12 -14 years old my paternal grandmother taught me crocheting.  We made granny square after granny square.  We used all her leftover stash in so many fun colors.  The making of all the squares was fun.    It was the putting them together that was a pain.  I no longer make granny squares, but I am grateful my grandmother  got me grounded in crocheting.  I have made so many afghans over the years I’ve lost count.  From there I went on to perfect that skill and have made endless items from all weights of thread and yarn.    

I am so grateful to those wonderful women whose talents and patience inspired me to keep the arts alive.  I wish they were with me now to see all I have accomplished because of them.  My hope is someday one of my daughters or granddaughters will enjoy knitting and crocheting as much as I do and keep the craft going for generations to come.    

To view other knitcroblo1 bloggers, I’ve linked all those participating in the right hand column for your convenience and mine.  Thanks for stopping by and happy knitting/crocheting.

8 Responses to “Day 1 of Blog Week: Starting Out”

  1. Snowcatcher Says:

    I can’t believe someone else has the very same book I have! This is the only time I’ve ever seen another one!

    I sewed a European suit for my first husband, and he promptly washed in in the washing machine after the first wearing, so your story really tugged on my heart strings. Current hubby often helps with laundry, and he is such a perfectionist, we’ve never even had pink undies! So wool is safe at my abode!

    Thanks for the handy list on the sidebar!

  2. klccreations Says:

    That is funny! Same book, same type of experience! Thanks for commenting and for stopping by my blog. Happy knitting!

  3. Janet Says:

    I also remember learning to crochet and making lots of granny squares. I don’t think they ever became anything. Thanks for the bloggers list in your sidebar. I’ve been clicking all afternoon. 🙂

  4. klccreations Says:

    Janet, Nice memories aren’t they. You’re welcome, I’m glad you had fun “clicking”. I’ve been doing it right along with you! Thanks for stopping by and commenting. It means so much. Happy Hooking!

  5. rachel Says:

    When I crocheted as a little girl, I don’t think I ever made anything other than little squares or strips of random stitches that my mom would “use” as potholders and the like… so I can totally relate to your experiences!

  6. klccreations Says:

    Rachel, Mom’s love handmade goodies from their kids. My squares ended up being an afghan. Well used I might add and it made me smile whenever I looked at it. I’m not sure what happened to it. So long ago . . . Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Happy Hooking!

  7. Rae Says:

    Granny squares are the only reason I want to learn to crochet they look so cool lol. It blows me away when people undertake big items for their first real projects. I am in awe of you all I would be to scared to do that. Mines was a scarf.

  8. klccreations Says:

    Granny squares are cool and there are so many different ways to make them! Thanks for commenting and stopping by. Happy Knitting.


Leave a Reply

