Day 3 of Blog Week: One Great Knitter

I must admit – I admire many great knitter’s; past and present.  So, even though the topic is “one” great knitter, I would like to talk about one from the past and one in the present.

Past:  My Grandmother, Delynn Meyer, who was my inspiration and taught me to knit.  Her fingers were fast!  Even when she was going blind, she knit.  Every winter Grandma would trace our hands and make us new wool mittens attached to I-cords that went through our coats so we wouldn’t lose them.  We also received a new pair of knit slippers.  Each family also received many of her beautiful afghans.  One year for Christmas all of us girls (mom, Aunts & cousins) received beautiful shells that had a sequin knit into each stitch.  It must have taken her forever to get them all done.  There wasn’t anything she couldn’t knit or fix a mistake in.  She sure fixed enough of my mistakes.  I wonder who taught her how to knit?  She was raised in an orphan home, as her mom died giving birth to one of her younger sisters.  She is sorely missed!

Present:  Linda C. Choo of Garden Canadensis Designs has to be on my list as a favorite.  Everyone knows how much I love shawls and stoles!  I write about them often.  Linda has the most beautiful lace stoles and shawls ever!  Her patterns are well written, easy to read and understand.  My two favorites are her “Leaf and Flower Shawl” and her “Leaf and Flower Stole“.  Linda is a retired engineer whose interests and talents are vast.  She has graciously offered us many of her patterns for free on Ravelry.  Thank you Linda.

7 Responses to “Day 3 of Blog Week: One Great Knitter”

  1. Rae Says:

    I am most definitely going to have to look up Linda C. Choo I haven’t got up enough courage to knit a shawl but I love looking at them.

  2. stephcuddles Says:

    Your grandmother sounds like one amazing lady. I’m glad other people chose 2 knitters 🙂

  3. accountantgrrl Says:

    I have a feeling that I will be the “Grandma Meyer” in my nieces and nephew’s lives. I make them mittens every year and plan to do so as long as they want me to. 🙂

  4. klccreations Says:

    Rae, I haven’t made one of Linda’s shawls/stoles yet either. I hope to soon (Need yarn and time). I say just go for it!

    Steph, She was, she and grandpa were married for over 75 years and held hands til the end. Grandma died in her 90’s, Grandpa was 99 1/2.

    Accountantgrrl, That would be nice. Don’t forget the I-cords! LOL

    Thanks everyone for stopping by and leaving a comment. I really appreciate your kind words.

  5. yarnpiggy Says:

    Linda Choo’s stoles are beautiful — if I manage to get through my first lace stole, I’m sure I’ll knit at one of hers, too. 🙂

  6. fridica Says:

    I also had one of those connected pairs of mittens, I loved those! And I admire your grandma for being able to fix all mistakes, it’s what I need to learn most about in knitting!

  7. dameemma Says:

    Oh my–I had never come across Linda Choo’s patterns. I am doomed. But in a good way! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

