Day 6 of Blog Week: Revisit a Finished Object

This was a very hard topic for me.  I’ve already talked about my Granny Square Afghan and my first sweater for my husband. I’m just at a loss as to what finished object to write about. 

Not everything I make turns out.  Some of my items can be found in the misfit bin.  I hate ripping all that work out, so I just set it aside.  Every once in a while I will pull out my stash of  “misfits” and have a good chuckle.

I once was into knitting and crocheting purses.  Many turned out very nice and my girls loved them.  But, I can think of one bag that was huge.  It wasn’t lined and when you put something in it, it stretched out even more.  It never got used for the purpose it was intended.  It is now full of  the kids stuffed animals and pillows. 

I was making mittens one time and I guess I wasn’t paying attention to what I was doing.  Can you believe it?  Me?  Anyway, I have one glove that is so big (how big is it you ask).  It is so big, you’d think it was an oven mitt!  Too bad it was made with acrylic yarn.  I never did make a second mitt to go with it. Don’t understand why, do you?

I made my grandson a sweater one time that turned out short and squatty.  It showed his belly button and was so wide , he could have put another kid in it with him.  He wore it anyway.  My family is weird that way. 

I’m sure there are more.  I just can’t think of any right now.  Besides, why am I blabbing to the world that I’m not perfect? 

I’m sorry I don’t have any pictures of the “beautiful creations” to show you.  I’d like to say that these items were all made many years ago and that everything I make now turns out perfect, but  we all know differently!   (See previous post about my new grandson’s baby sweater)! 

I’m just a mom and grandma who enjoys the process of making things for those I love.  And I am lucky enough to have a family that appreciates handmade gifts – even if they aren’t perfect!

12 Responses to “Day 6 of Blog Week: Revisit a Finished Object”

  1. Vivianne Says:

    LOL they wear them because they were made with love 🙂

  2. Becky Says:

    I totally agree that they wear them because you made them with love. I used to wear a couple huge sweaters my mom made for me. I even wore them to work. I loved them because they were like a big wooly hug from my mom. : )

  3. fridica Says:

    We all make things that turn out so… well, so that you want to give them the ‘ugh’ label on Ravelry. 🙂 But it’s all a process of learning. I bet you never made an oversized mitten again! 🙂 And I quite enjoyed your stories 🙂

  4. stephcuddles Says:

    fun stories 🙂 I made my boyfriend a scarf for Christmas which he loved, then accidently ruined. I think it’s the making it with love which is the main part 🙂 And i have a big bag full of misfits under my bed, I try not to get them out cause they make me cry 😛

  5. accountantgrrl Says:

    Who needs perfect when they are, obviously, made with lots of love? 😉

  6. littlesparrowknits Says:

    Great stories! Some of my most treasured items are quilts and blankets made by my grandmas and great-grandmother. There are mistakes in the stitching, but that makes them even more meaningful to me! I know they were made by loving hands and not a machine.

  7. Janine Says:

    I really enjoyed reading your stories. It made me feel better about the unusual garments I have knitted for the family.

    • klccreations Says:

      I’m glad you liked my stories and that they make you feel better. I enjoy telling them. Thanks for stopping by and reading my blog. Happy Knitting.

  8. Rae Says:

    Your knitting doesn’t have to be perfect. What counts is that you cared enough to make them for people.


Leave a Reply

