Day 7 of Blog Week: What a Yarn!

~ What a Yarn! ~

 What is yarn exactly?  How did it get that name?  Yarn is a continuous strand of material.  Continuous.  Continuous meaning one long strand; no breaks, no knots.  A smooth continuous strand.  Doesn’t that sound beautiful?   

 You are in the middle of a project, everything is going perfectly.  You’re sitting in your favorite spot with your favorite beverage, happy with the pattern, the yarn is scrumptious, the gauge is right, everything is copacetic ~ STOP RIGHT THERE!!  A knot!! You are not at the beginning of the row – now what?  

 There is nothing more frustrating than starting on a project with a new skein of yarn, it’s new because you don’t want to have any interruptions or breaks in the yarn, and you come across a knot.  Usually where there is one knot, there are more of those little buggers.  I don’t think I’ve found a skein of yarn yet that had only one knot in it.  The skein either has none or you get 2 or 3 knots in it.  

What do you do when you come across one of these uninvited lumps?  Do you rip back to the beginning of the row so you can cut it out and start the row with a fresh length of yarn?  Do you stop, cut out the unwanted knot and graft the yarn back together?  Or, horrors, do you just keep going, ignoring the fact that you even saw the knot in the first place?  

 Me?  In the beginning, when I thought the knitting police weren’t looking, I pretended I didn’t see the knot and just kept going.  Then, as I advanced in my abilities, I tried to cut out the knot and graft the two pieces of yarn back together.  Now, I would rather not have a knot or a spliced together interruption in my work.  I like to rip back to the beginning of the row and start fresh there.  Why would you do that?, you ask.  That is easy.  I have had the wonderful experience of spending many hours knitting something and when the yarn came to an end in the middle of the row,  I would try to graft  in the new ball of yarn and continued on.  Then, after time, my perfect masterpiece begins to unravel.  My grafting technique was not and still is not yet mastered.  My hours of knitting were wasted.  I no longer wish to take that risk.  

 How about you?  What do you do when you encounter that dreaded knot?  1.  Scream, as if you’d just seen a mouse and then go on as if it wasn’t there, hoping the knitting police aren’t looking?   2.  Think to yourself  “no big deal”, cut out the knot and graft the two ends together, because you are an expert and know what you are doing?  Or – 3.  Do you groan at the inconvenience, rip your work back to the beginning of the row, cut out the knot and start the row fresh with a new strand of yarn?  Oh, What a Yarn! 

Thanks for joining me this past week for blog week.  It has been fun.   I hope you will continue to visit. 

12 Responses to “Day 7 of Blog Week: What a Yarn!”

  1. tishka Says:

    I throw a tantrum! Skeins of yarn should not have any knots and if they do, it should be on the label as such. Whenever I discover a knot Im usually near the end of the row and I hate to tink back when I didnt make a mistake! -smiles- Pleasure reading your blog this week.

  2. klccreations Says:

    Thanks Tishka, I’m glad you enjoyed my blog. I hope you will continue reading.

  3. stephcuddles Says:

    I haven’t yet found knots in my yarn, I must be so lucky 😀 my thing is not thinking about how much yarn is left and having to change in the middle of a row, sucks.

  4. accountantgrrl Says:

    It all depends on the yarn. If it is a yarn that I know I can spit-splice, then I will cut out the knot and do that. If not, I will go back to the beginning of the row and start with a fresh strand like you.

  5. Rae Says:

    I have that same color yarn from Deborah Norville’s collection too lol. I try to wind all my yarn before I start knitting in case of knots & things like that. When I do find knots I email the company & let them know even if I never get a response or anything.

    • klccreations Says:

      Rae, Just curious – Have you ever gotten a response from a company? Winding all my yarn before I used it would take forever! I’m not that patient. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Happy Knitting.

  6. pixelknit Says:

    Luckily I haven’t found many knots. I usually tink back to the beginning of the row … usually after a quick pout.

    • klccreations Says:

      Yes, a good pout is necessary. I’m glad you haven’t found too many knots, they are a pain. Thanks for visiting and commenting. Happy Knitting.

  7. Melissa Says:

    I do something different when I come to knots, I usually feel them in my yarn holding hand a few inches before I get to them, so I just start knitting with the yarn a few inches on the opposite side of the knot. I go back later when I weaving in the ends, and cut the knot out and weave in those ends.


Leave a Reply

