Conquering Entrelac

 Last week I talked about how I just couldn’t figure out how to do Entrelac.  I’ve made cables and lace and intarsia.  All very challenging by themselves.  I just could not for the life of me figure out how to knit anything Entrelac.

Determined to surmount this hurdle, I plunged into the nitty-gritty of the how and why of Entrelac.  Armed with my computer, US  #7 knitting needles, 100% blue and ecru cotton yarn and the Garterlac Dishcloth Pattern by Dave at Criminy Jickets, I readied myself in my favorite knitting chair, prepared to tackle this challenge head on.  My first plan of operation was to watch Cat’s video provided to us on Let’s Knit 2gether.  I wanted to get a feel for what I was up against.  Knowing I had tried and failed before, I was resolute that this time would be different. 

It wasn’t easy.  I watched the video.  I cast on my 24 stitches.  I successfully completed the bottom triangle.  And then I was stumped!  I couldn’t figure out the increasing side triangle.  I watched the video again and again.  I tried to knit the increasing side triangle again.  Still, a brain fart.  I wasn’t getting it.  I was going nowhere.  I had to resort to plan B.  Persistent to press on I called upon Yarnpath’s excellent tutorial on Entrelac, which is available to everyone.  And then, I had my “ah-ha” moment!  Yes!  I was able to move on, armed with determination and confidence!  I completed my increasing side triangle and my two squares.

Sugar'n Cream - Over the Rainbow

Oh boy!  Another conundrum.  How do you do  a decreasing side?  After re-watching the video and looking over the tutorial a number of times I finally figured it out.  I managed to complete the next row.  I repeated this process of knitting, watching the video and looking over the tutorial a few more times before I was able to say – “I did it”!   Yes, I made a beautiful Entrelac dishcloth.  And, just to prove I could do it, I made a second Entrelac dishcloth.  The second dishcloth didn’t take anywhere near the length of time the first one did.  Gee, I wonder why?  What a feeling of accomplishment.  It just goes to show you – armed with the right tools and a little perseverance you can do anything.  Aren’t they something! 

Now – I need to go shopping for yarn.  I really want to make this Forest Path Shawl by Faina M. Letoutchaia.  I just got the pattern from the library.  It is in the  Interweave Knits, Summer 2003 The Best of Interweave Knits: Our Favorite Designs from the First Ten Years.

5 Responses to “Conquering Entrelac”

  1. Janet Says:

    Entrelac is on my “learn to do” list. I think dishcloths are a perfect way to learn new stitches and techniques; so I’ve added this pattern to my Rav queue. Good luck on the Forest Path!

  2. topperarnold Says:

    Thanks for reminding me about this pattern. I made one once a long time ago and didn’t think I did a very good job. Now that I have a little more knitting under my belt I should try again.

  3. maureen Says:

    Wow, way to self-educate! I still haven’t braved entrelac… it seems to be a whole ‘nother level of knitting expertise.


Leave a Reply

