Filet Bookmarks

Meghan's Bookmark

 

Another birthday – another bookmark. This year I am making slippers and bookmarks for all the grandchildren’s birthdays. They are easy to mail and quick to make projects. I decided that filet bookmarks with each of their names would make nice gifts. I’m finding some names are easier to read than others. I also have found it is easier to read them further away and on a dark background. 

I used Coats & Clark “Royal” fashion crochet thread, 100% mercerized cotton #3 in peach and a #2 or B hook. The same type of yarn I used in Tristan’s blue bookmark.  I’m not sure if the color of the thread makes a difference in your ability to read it.  I’m still learning about the differences in filet crochet.  

 Previously I told you about a book I reserved from our local library call Stitch Collection Filet Crochet by Betty Barnden.  It is the best beginner/reference filet crochet book ever!  It is on my wish list to add to my own library.   I use the references from this book to chart and stitch my own bookmarks.  All you need is a piece of graph paper and the style of alphabet you want to use.  The book also has some very nice simple patterns in it.  

If you like to crochet, filet is very easy to do.  Happy Hooking!

4 Responses to “Filet Bookmarks”

  1. topperarnold Says:

    I love filet crochet. When I first learned to crochet, I almost exclusively did filet projects. I haven’t done one in a long time though. I love the bookmark and I think that is a great idea for gift-giving.

  2. Janet Says:

    The personalized bookmarks look very nice and will be fun to use. Filet crochet looks interesting. I may need to see if I can find that book.


Leave a Reply

