The Best of Interweave Knits

Now that I have conquered knitting the garterlac dishcloth, I am hoping I am ready for more difficult entrelac knitting.  I reserved The Best of Interweave Knits-Our Favorite Designs from the First Ten Years, edited by Ann Budd, from our library interloan service for the Forest Path Stole pattern by Faina Letoutchaia.  It is a beautiful stole with not just one, but three lace patterns-fern, birch leaves, and lily of the valley and all done within its own entrelac unit.  The stole in the book was completed using fingering weight alpaca yarn on US size 3 needles.  I am intimidated by the pattern, but I really want to make this stole. 

After looking through this book, I understood why the call it “the best of”.  This book is filled with interesting and timeless patterns.  It also is an excellent book for the many extended helps called “beyond the basics”.  I will definitely use the one on knitting lace!

Inside the book are both patterns for men and women.  I really like the Pearl Buck Spring Jacket by Kate Gilbert.  Ravelry miss named it “swing jacket” if you look for it there.  There is not one bad pattern in this book!  I would love to add it to my own library.  Check it out, you won’t be sorry.

4 Responses to “The Best of Interweave Knits”

  1. Nancy McCarroll Says:

    Just found your lovely blog through Ravelry and the bloggers’ forum. Great job on the blog!

  2. Janet Says:

    I felt the same way about the Gail shawl. I finally took a deep breath and gave it a try. It’s my favorite shawl now. I’m looking forward to reading about your progress with the lovely Forest Path Stole.


Leave a Reply

