A Gathering of Lace

Meg Swansen’s book A Gathering of Lace  has a number of beautiful patterns in it that I would love to make.  She features a number of lace patterns. 

One lace pattern I am particularly fond of is the Feather & Fan ShawlIt is a circular shawl with a beautiful flower at the center of it.  The lace weight blue shawl pictured in her book was done on US size 5 needles.

Another circular shawl pattern in her book that I would love to make is the Rippling Rainbow.  The shawl pictured in the book was made with fingering weight yarn on US size 8 needles in orange, yellow, green, blue, purple and black.  In the center of the shawl is an 8-point star/pin wheel. 

I am always looking for a cute summer sun hat and the Picture Hat her book is perfect.  It is recommended to use crochet cotton in size 5 or 10 on US size 3 needles.  This is a charted pattern.  I love the fact that blocking directions are also given.

There are many other patterns I am drawn to, many of them are shawls.  I would definitely add this book to my library.  I checked this book out from my local library interloan system.  It is also available on-line for purchase.

2 Responses to “A Gathering of Lace”

  1. Nancy McCarroll Says:

    I LOVE this book!! I started with the Beginner’s Triangle and have progressed to make six shawls!! Good luck!

    • klccreations Says:

      That is good to hear. I am glad you like it and WOW! Six shawls! That’s something. Thanks for stopping by and taking time to post. I hope you visit often. Happy Knitting.


Leave a Reply

