House Finch

Yesterday I spent part of my day sitting in my chair working on my baby grandson’s v-neck sweater.  I am a few a rows away from starting the decreases for the armhole on the front.  It is coming along slowly, but steady.  I do not need the sweater until July and my thoughts are on other projects I want to get started on. 

As I was sitting there, I heard the long twittering sound of the House Finch.  Originally these birds were only found in Mexico and parts of the western United States.  The small song birds were not common in our area until after the 1940’s when they were illegally brought to Long Island, New York to be sold as caged birds.  The birds were released into the wild by the vendors and owners to avoid prosecution. It took a while for them to become established, having struggled to survive, but they are now widespread and a very common sight in our area.   

I looked outside and saw a number of  these little birds sitting in the bush next to our house.  I was lucky to get this photo through the window glass.  Click on the photo for a better view.

6 Responses to “House Finch”

  1. topperarnold Says:

    What a pretty view while you knit!

  2. tishka Says:

    Lovely view and picture. That would make a really nice screen saver.

  3. Thea Says:

    What cute little birds. I am impressed that you’re that far along for something that doesn’t need to be done until July.

    • klccreations Says:

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I would normally have it finished by now. I would like to have it finished by the first of June. I have many other projects to get going. Thanks again. PS – I stopped by your blog. I love your hedgehog. I couldn’t post there – you’re on blogger.


Leave a Reply

