Scarf Style

Now that I have figured out how to do entrelac knitting, I am ready to move to the next step, the step in-between knitting my ultimate entrelac challenge, the Forest Path Stole by Faina Letoutchaia.  That next step is knitting the Lady Eleanor Entrelac Stole by Kathleen Power Johnson.  I saw the pattern on Ravelry done in a multi color blend that was to die for.  The pattern is in Pam Allen’s Scarf Style book put out by Interweave Knits.  The book finally came in to our library through our interloan system.  You all know how much I love my library!  Anyway, now that I have the book I can plan my stole.  The stole is done on US size 10 1/2 needles using Aran weight yarn.  Only one problem, it takes about 10 skeins of yarn.  I am thinking about using Patons SWS, a wool blend – 70% wool, 30% soyabean.  There are a few different striping combinations that are quite striking. 

The book has a couple other patterns that caught my eye.  One was Ene’s Scarf by Nancy Bush.  It is made using 2 strands of lace weight yarn held together with US size 6 needles.  It looks a little more complicated than some of the other scarves, but it is really pretty. 

The other pattern that I liked is the Blizzard scarf/shawl by Leigh Radford.  This scarf/shawl is crocheted, not knit with a P hook and super bulky yarn.

Scarf Style has a variety of other patterns in it, from very easy to a little more complicated.  I’d say there is something for everyone to knit or crochet.

3 Responses to “Scarf Style”

  1. topperarnold Says:

    hmmm. I know I have this book. Now, where did I put it?

  2. WorstedKnitt Says:

    Thanks for the review, that books sounds interesting. Not sure I’d buy a book with only scarf patterns though… hmm!

  3. accountantgrrl Says:

    I’ll have to look for it in my library.


Leave a Reply

