Midweek Mayhem

What a morning!  Living in the sticks has its advantages, peace and quiet, wild life and lakes to name a few.  But sometimes living away from the city has its inconveniences.  This morning we experienced a couple of them.  For no apparent reason, as the weather is beautiful, we had no phone or internet.  We still had TV, which is odd since all three are connected to the cable line.  Needless to say, I was unable to post at my usual early morning hour.  Sorry for the delay.  Without further ado, todays post.

I am happy to report I have finished both the front and back of my grandson’s v-neck sweater and I am now working on the sleeves. 

I love the color of green we picked for the yarn.  It is called Pistachio.  It’s a nice celery color, not a bright green or mint green.  It is a green that would look good in either a baby or an adult sweater.  I guess Pistachio is an accurate choice for the color.  Even though I like the color, I’m not that thrilled with the yarn itself.  

The yarn is Lion Brand Baby Soft.  The band says “a cuddly sportweight yarn in fun baby and kid’s colors.”  It is 60% acrylic and 40% nylon.  My daughter and I decided on this yarn because of the color.  This is my first time working with this particular yarn.  The skein of yarn feels ok as far as softness goes, but worked up it feels a little rough.  I wouldn’t call it “cuddly”.  I’m not sure I would buy it again.  We will see how it washes up.

8 Responses to “Midweek Mayhem”

  1. Wanda Says:

    Thanks for the warning. I have not tried it yet but will shy away from it for now on. I like Vanna’s but you don’t always find the color you want. Then it depends on wherre you go. I”ve gotten into using more from a “not so local yarn shop”. But I like to go to AC Moore also. I know we talked about JoAnn’s earlier this week but there is a better one about 50 miles away. We have a Michael’s in town also but again the one 50 miles away is better. Do you have a Target in your area that sells yarn. None in Maine sell it. Very disappointing. Oh well, live goes on. Oh yeah, love the sweater and the colors!
    Wanda
    in Maine

    • klccreations Says:

      Hi Wanda, Yes, it is getting harder and harder to find everything you want in a yarn-color, weight & fiber content. All my shopping is about a 1/2hour away. Our Target does not carry yarn. We do have Michaels, JoAnn’s & Walmart. I have gone in the one LYS we have nearby and have never found anything interesting. Thanks for commenting.

  2. Janet Says:

    Love the colors – the pistachio and white look so crisp together. All those cables! I used the same yarn, same color 🙂 in a baby blanket a couple of years ago. Like you, I was surprised at the difference in the feel of the skein and the fabric. It softened a bit after a good soak.

    • klccreations Says:

      Thanks Janet, The cables aren’t so bad. Six row pattern repeat. Easy to memorize. I’m glad it will soften up a bit after washing. Thanks for letting me know.

  3. topperarnold Says:

    The sweater looks great! I like the green and white together, too. I’ve crocheted with the baby soft and liked it, but I’ve never knit with it.

  4. accountantgrrl Says:

    I love that color green. It’s coming along quite nicely.


Leave a Reply

