Handknit Holidays

While I was checking out books at the library I came across Melanie Falick’s Handknit Holidays, so I decided to add it to my pile.  I’m glad I did.  It has an interesting variety of patterns from scarves and gloves to beadwork, kids sweaters and more. 

I particularly like the Cardinal Joy Hoodie.  It is a childs hooded sweater with a front pouch pocket.  Very cute and could be for a boy or girl depending on the color of the yarn.  I’m not sure what the actual size is.  The pattern is for chest measurements from 25 to 32 inches. 

I also like the Holly Leg WarmersThey are shown in DK wool and done on size US 5 & 6 needles.  There is a simple fair isle chart.  I’m thinking what a great Christmas gift for my girls.

The River Forest Gansey sweater is beautiful.  The pattern is for both child and adult.  They show it on both a man and boy.  If I didn’t have so many men and boys to knit for, I would love to knit one up.  It uses a tree of life motif and basketweave stitch.  Just gorgeous!

The book has many fun patterns that I wouldn’t look twice at, but then again someone might like them.  Although it is a nice book for a couple of patterns, I am glad I was able to get it through the library.  It is not one I would add to my own collection of books.

4 Responses to “Handknit Holidays”

  1. accountantgrrl Says:

    Thank you for the review!

  2. Janet Says:

    I enjoy reading your book reviews. The Cardinal Joy Hoodie looks like it would be a fun project. I may need to see if our library has this book. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

