Taking Time for Me

My hands and nails are a mess!  Dry, chapped, in desperate need of a manicure.  My hands once were soft and smooth.  My nails were long, neatly manicured and polished daily to match my outfits.  How did this happen?  How did they get this way? How long has it been since I spent time on myself? It has been a while. Too long.

The more I knit and crochet, the worse my hands and nails get.  Have you ever noticed how hard yarn is on your skin and nails?  We may love yarn, but it sure doesn’t like us.   We hold this precious commodity in our hands, winding it around our fingers, then we continually drag it ever so slowly around and over our hands and fingers.  In time, our precious yarn works like sandpaper rubbing our soft skin rough and chapped.  I’m not sure if it matters much what the fiber content of the yarn is.  Wool, cotton, bamboo, acrylic, or any mix of fibers, they all eventually work against you, making your hands dry and chapped.

We try different hand creams and lotions as a quick fix.  Some work temporarily, easing the itching and tight feelings in your hands.  Other hand creams leave your hands smooth, but are not so nice to your cherished yarn, leaving it stained and/or greasy.  Most of us know that lanolin dries out your skin, while glycerin is good for your skin.  Glycerin is a humectant, which means it is a substance that absorbs or helps retain moisture.  If you talk to other knitter’s, they will all have their own favorite hand lotion or cream and reasons why it is their favorite.  Most knitter’s recommend using lotions containing shea butter, bees-wax and almond butter.  Check the ingredients in the lotions you are using.  Test the different ones and see for yourself which works best for you.  Right now, my hands and nails are past the quick fix of just adding lotion.  I need the full treatment.

I keep thinking I’ll take time for myself.  Tonight, tonight I’ll give myself a manicure.  And, when night comes, I don’t.  I’m either too tired or I forget or I just don’t.  Always procrastinating.  No more!  The time has come to stop putting everything and everyone else ahead of my own needs.  I mean, don’t I need soft, subtle hands and snag free, attractive, freshly polished nails to knit and crochet?  Maybe not all of those things, but I do need snag free nails for sure. 

While I am at it, I might as well do my feet too.  They are a sight not to be seen in public.  Oh my, really, really bad.  A sad, sad sight.  And, all next week we are supposed to be in the upper 80’s.  You know what that means – sandals.   If I’m going to be knitting in public wearing sandals, I’ll need nice looking feet and toes too.

This is my plan and I’m sticking to it!  First, I’ll gather all the supplies needed for both a manicure and a pedicure.  Then I’ll get myself a glass of wine and my book (I don’t want polish on my yarn!) and I’ll sit in my comfortable chair with a warm, relaxing neck wrap.  I’ll soak my feet in a tub filled with a good smelling softening oil.  While my feet are soaking, I’ll be soaking my hands too.  In the end I will be relaxed, well read, and have smooth hands and feet and nicely polished nails.  Join me.  Take some time for yourself.  You are worth it!

2 Responses to “Taking Time for Me”

  1. topperarnold Says:

    Sounds nice! Enjoy!

  2. Janet Says:

    Good for you for giving yourself such a treat!


Leave a Reply

