Beautiful Weather ♥ Books ~ Burp Cloths ~ Baby Sweaters

A busy week-end and beautiful weather,  I couldn’t ask for more.  I got a chance to sit outside and read.  It is always nice to find a good book and relax in the fresh air.  I’ve started another book.  This one is about a yarn store and a knitting group.  It’s not my usual type of book and I’m not feeling pulled to sit down with it, but I’ll give it a shot.

I managed to get my manicure and pedicure in.  Now I’m ready for sandals and my hands are soft and snag-free for knitting.

The baby sweater is coming along nicely.  I finished one sleeve and I am about halfway along on the second sleeve.  I will be working on it more today as I sit outside.  It is really nice out already this morning.

I also made another trip to JoAnn’s.  I read their flyer wrong and thought that the flannel was half off.  It will be, but not until next week-end for their holiday sale.  I did find a few remnants so the trip wasn’t a total waste.  

The reason I was looking for flannel is that I was asked for a few more burp cloths.  I made up a dozen or so of  them and I’ll be making up a few more so I have some on hand for the next request.  They really are nice to give as a gift. The store-bought ones just don’t compare.  Then again, when does anything store-bought compare to handmade?  I was looking online for a tutorial on making burp cloths to link with the photos, but I can’t find any that are like the ones I make.  Most of what I found online uses store-bought diapers and just dresses them up.  If anyone is interested in making a few and doesn’t know how, I will put together some instructions for you.  Just let me know.

7 Responses to “Beautiful Weather ♥ Books ~ Burp Cloths ~ Baby Sweaters”

  1. Janet Says:

    Sounds like you had a busy weekend. Are the burp cloths flannel on both sides? The bright colors are so cheerful.

  2. klccreations Says:

    Janet, Yes, a very busy week-end. The burp cloths are flannel on both sides. I usually use a plain color on one side and a print on the other. I cut the fabric 12″x19″ (11″x18″ finished), round the corners, turn in-side out and top stitch. Some people like the bright colors, others like the more traditonal baby prints, so I make a variety. Thanks for asking.

  3. topperarnold Says:

    I’m glad you got your mani/pedi in!

  4. Wanda Says:

    I would like to have the instructions. I just found out my cousin is due in September and would like to make a few for her. I made a knitted one put would like to try some out of flannel.
    Thanks for the offer.
    Wanda

    • klccreations Says:

      Hi Wanda, It is fun to make things for new babies. I’m sure your cousin would love your handmade gifts. I will put together a little tutorial very soon so you can get started.

  5. barbraabf Says:

    Burp cloths are probably one of the most useful cleanup tools for babies…


Leave a Reply

