The Beach Street Knitting Society and Yarn Club

As an avid knitter, I like to find books that revolve around topics that interest me.  I noticed the book The Beach Street Knitting Society and Yarn Club book by Gil McNeil at our library and decided to give it a try.  The book was first published in Great Britain as Divas Don’t Knit in 2007 and was then released in 2009 in the United States under the title The Beach Street Knitting Society and Yarn Club. 

Gil McNeil writes in an easy flowing chatty way, filled with gossip and light humor.  As an American I find her words and expressions cute and it reminds me that American English is much different from that used in the U.K.

The book revolves around Jo MacKenzie and her two small boys.  Jo is a recent widow who moves her boys from London to the coast and takes over her Grandmother’s Yarn Shop.  Jo renames her Grandmother’s shop to “McKnits”, starts a Stitch and Bitch group for novice knitter’s, and the name of the book is “The Beach Street Knitting Society and Yarn Club”.  Although I see why the author decided on all three names, I would have liked to seen more continuity in the book. 

For many, this is the perfect book to read on a gloomy day and will lift your spirits.  I found the book  a little lighter and airier, without a lot of  substance or depth I am used to.  It is, nevertheless, an enjoyable read that I give 3 out of 5 stars, for those of you who like ratings.

Gil McNeil has written a second book in this series, Needles and Pearls, which came out in Britain in 2008 and was released in the US this year.  If you like light, feel good books with some humor added, then you will enjoy The Beach Street Knitting Society and Yarn Club.

10 Responses to “The Beach Street Knitting Society and Yarn Club”

  1. accountantgrrl Says:

    I read this book as well and thought it was a nice diversion.

  2. Vivianne Says:

    Thank you, have them both on order from my library now 🙂

  3. Janet Says:

    I enjoyed this book also and found it a pretty quick read. I have Needles and Pearls in my “to be read” pile.

  4. noddingviolets Says:

    I have both books and love them. They are nice and light and fluffy, which is just what I need when I read as it is normally bedtime. The second book is also lovely, and gives a great finish to the two books.

  5. Vivianne Says:

    Well, I read it; quite enjoyable – for a while I thought it was going to be a bit realistic, and was looking forward to how Jo was going to deal with things – but no, everything falls in her lap :-/


Leave a Reply

