Boucle Ridge Shawl

September is here, Labor Day is only a couple of days away and soon the weather will start to feel like fall.  I decided it was about time to start knitting once again.  I’ve been so busy this summer enjoying other interests, like reading and sewing, that I have completely neglected my first love, knitting.  When I moved my craft room upstairs this summer, I also went through and touched everything.  It is nice to have all my yarn organized by type and weight.  My worsted weight is even organized by color.  I’m not sure how long that will last!

Not one to follow a pattern, I decided to create a shawl for myself.  If it turned out to my satisfaction, it could end up being a gift or I could make another to gift out at Christmas.  Oh my! Christmas!  I haven’t even started on Christmas gifts yet!  Usually I am at least half way done by now.   I’m not sure what that means.  I either will not be gifting as much this year or I have an awfully busy fall ahead of me.

For this shawl I decided to mix my yarns. The reason is two-fold, I am trying to stash-bust and I am going for a different look.  I don’t want a dressy shawl.  I want an everyday wrap that looks good with jeans or casual pants with some warmth to it.  I needed to use what some refer to as “the dreaded acrylic yarn”, as that is what I have the most of, and I wanted a worsted weight shawl.  I also visioned a combination between the basic triangle shawl and the oblong stole.  I like my shoulders and back covered without having to sit on it. 

Even though I started this shawl by casting on 7 stitches and increasing 2 stitches on each end and 2 stitches in the center every other row, this ends up to be the top of the shawl and your bind off edge with the most stitches ends up as the point.  Go figure, it’s always been a mystery to me.

I used 1 complete 7 oz. skein of Caron Simply Soft in dark sage and 2 7/8 oz. of the 5 oz. skein of Bernat Soft Boucle in forest green.  It was knit using size 10 US needles and I bound it off using a size 11 US needles.   I also knit the first 2 rows before beginning  my increases.  The 1st 2 stitches of each row are knit.  There are 10 rows of dark sage between each 4 rows of garter stitch boucle ridges.  The 1st garter stitch boucle ridge was made at 3″.  Next time I will bind off on the wrong side to help prevent rolling (I forgot this time – must be old age). 

My finished shawl is just what I wanted.  The look and fit are perfect.  I may make a couple more for gifts.

2 Responses to “Boucle Ridge Shawl”

  1. Janet Says:

    Your shawl looks terrific! I love the idea of combining those two yarns. The boucle adds a nice flair. Thanks for sharing the instructions!


Leave a Reply

