Senior Momments in Knitting

September is here, Labor Day week-end was relaxing and fun.  The weather was nice and having family over is always the best.  School has started back up and the weather has turned cool, telling us fall is upon us.  I’ve enjoyed all of my summer reading, but it’s time to think about Christmas gifts, as I’ve really procrastinated this year.  That doesn’t mean I’ll give up reading altogether, I just have to focus on more projects. 

Last winter, after Christmas, I was busy creating and reverse engineering hats.  As many of us watched the Olympics we fell in love with our athletes moose hats. Thanks to Ravelry and our knitting friends there, the hat came to life.  It took a few tries to get the gauge and pattern right, but I finally came up with “the hat”,  which my grandson snagged as his. 

At the same time my daughter saw a photo of Katy Perry wearing this really cute bobble and cable earflap hat in a dark gold.  It took me a while, but I finally recreated her hat and the fit is perfect.  My pattern is hand-written on many sheets of paper with both charts and long hand rows.  It’s also on post-it notes and side notes.  I showed those on Ravelry my hat and others wanted the pattern, my problem is I don’t write charts or patterns out well and this one is long! 

Yesterday I gathered together all of my knitting supplies for a good sit-in with my yarn, needles and patterns.  I decided to start on the “Katy Perry” hat.  The house was quiet and I had no distractions.  Only one problem!  I couldn’t figure out my own pattern!  I couldn’t ask anyone for help, because it was my pattern!  I wasted away the entire morning staring at the pattern trying to figure it out.  By mid-afternoon I finally was knitting up a storm.  I should have the hat finished today.  I have made more notations on the pattern so hopefully it (those senior moments) doesn’t happen again.  The photo is of the original hat I made last February.  The color is off, as the hat is purple.

6 Responses to “Senior Momments in Knitting”

  1. knitting1105 Says:

    I love this hat. I hope that you can figure out your instructions, and how to write them. I am sure that I am not the only one who would like to knit this. Great job.

  2. Janet Says:

    That hat is just terrific! I wouldn’t know how to start creating a pattern for something so detailed. Good luck pulling the directions together. I’d love to give it a try when you get the pattern worked out.

    • klccreations Says:

      Thanks Janet, I’ve got the hat knit, but I have the needles for the ribbing around it on another project that I need more yarn for so I can’t totally finish it right now. Thanks again, I’m glad you like it.

  3. Sara Says:

    It’s great! I’m glad you finally figured it out. I’m so impressed with folks who have the skills to reverse engineer things.


Leave a Reply

