Popcorn Hats

Last fall while shopping at JoAnn’s I bought a couple of magazines on impulse. I used to enjoy buying and reading magazines, but the cost of the magazines began to rise and the number of patterns I would actually make from them began decrease. At the same time, the number of ads increased and many of the ads had nothing to do with the type of magazine I was looking at.  Needless to say, I stopped purchasing them.  That is why it was so surprising that I would actually buy not only one, but two magazines. 

In the Creative Knitting Magazine presents Accessorize with Style – Fall 2010, I found the Popcorn Hat by Scarlet Taylor.  I thought it was a really cute hat that would look good on everyone.  The first hat I made turned out huge!  The pattern recommended size US 8 needles and casting on 121 stitches.  I loved the yarn and color, but I ended up frogging it.

I tried again using the same yarn, Patons Decor in New Teal – 75% acrylic/25% wool, using size US 6 needles and casting on 99 stitches.  The finished size is 9″H x 8″W.  I used 2 1/2 oz. yarn.  It is a much better fit and is probably perfect for most heads, but I like my hats to fit a little tighter and so do my girls.

For my next hat I used Lion Brand Wool Ease in Cranberry – 80% acrylic/20% wool, using size US 5 needles casting on 99 stitches.  The finished size is 8 1/2″H x 6 1/2″W.  I used a total of 2 1/8 oz. yarn.  A perfect fit!  I love this hat.  I wanted to keep it for myself, but I made it with my daughter in mind and knew it was just the right color and perfect fit for her. 

I liked the hat so much I made one for myself in black using Naturally Caron-Country, – 75% acrylic/25% merino wool, using size US 5 needles and casting on 99 stitches.  The finished size is 8 1/2″H x 6″W.  I used a total of 2 3/8 oz. yarn. 

This pattern is not for the beginning knitter.  I hope my notes are a help to those of you who are interested in making it too.  I know I’m glad I did.

2 Responses to “Popcorn Hats”

  1. Janet Says:

    Three very cute hats. I especially like the cable and rib combination.

  2. klccreations Says:

    Janet, Thanks. They are fun hats to make.


Leave a Reply

