Earflap ~ Chullo Hats

Earflap or Chullo hats are very popular right now.  Teens and young adults are wearing a variety of styles.  They are fun looking and practical too.  After experimenting last year using many different patterns written by very generous knitters I think I have the hang of what I am doing. 

The differences between patterns are mainly in the style of earflaps and the actual hat style, mixing and matching both.  Earflaps can be rounded or pointed, long or short.  The same with the hat style; some are pointed, others are rounded, and some are even boxy.  There is something out there for everyone.  That’s the fun of knitting.

For Christmas I made my granddaughters earflap hats. Using what I learned from making many different hats last year I now have my own earflap hat pattern. 

I used a worsted weight yarn on size US 8 needles. You need both dpn’s. and circular needles.

For the earflaps:  (Make 2).  CO 7.  Row 1:  Knit, increasing in 1st & last stitch.  Row 2: Purl.  Repeat these 2 rows until 21sts.

Hat:  7 – 21 – 28 – 21 – 7.   84 stitches total.  That is: 14 stitches in back, 28 stitches in front and 21 stitches over each ear.  Knit earflap onto circular needle, co 14 st., knit on 2nd earflap, co 28 sts.  Knit in round for about 5 1/2″.  Start decreasing.  84/6=14.  K12 – K2tog – PM around.  (6 decreases per round).  Decrease every other round.  You can either crochet an edge around or pick up stitches and knit edge.  For the hats shown I crocheted my edge with a contrasting color.  Add a pom-pom and braids to finish the look.  Pom Poms also look cute at the bottom of the braids.  For the braids I cut 18 – 40″ lengths (9 strands per braid).  13″ finished length.

The finished hats used 2 1/8 oz. yarn total with braids and pom-pom.  Finished measurements:  10″w x8″h.  

Hat #1:  Lion Brand Wool Ease – Fisherman, Avocado, Purple & Blush Heather.

Hat #2:  Lion Brand Wool Ease – Blush Heather.  Patons Decor – Chocolate Taupe & New Teal.

 Use any color combinations and patterns to change the look.  I know this is not a fully written pattern, only basic notes.  I hope you find them helpful.

2 Responses to “Earflap ~ Chullo Hats”

  1. Janet Says:

    Very cute! And thanks for sharing your pattern.

  2. klccreations Says:

    Janet, Thank you and you are welcome.


Leave a Reply

