Earflap Hats for the Guys

I thought I’d share more of my Christmas gift knitting with you today.  Last week I posted about the earflap hats I made for two of my granddaughters.  Today, I’d like to show you the earflap hats I made for some of my guys. 

For their hats I used the same formula I used for the girls hats, 7 -21 -28 – 21 -7, which is; 14 stitches in the back, 21 stitches over each ear, and 28 stitches in the front.  I used size US 8 needles and a variety of different worsted weight yarns.  To keep their hats from rolling up I knit the ears and 2″ above in garter stitch (knit every row), then I switched to stockinette stitch (knit 1 row, purl 1 row).  The patterns used in each individual hat were made up as I went.  I like to make each hat a little different from the last.  Decreasing started at 5″ every other round.  Each hat used from 1 3/4 oz. – 2 3/8 oz. total yarn.  I hope you find my notes helpful.  Happy Knitting!

4 Responses to “Earflap Hats for the Guys”

  1. Janet Says:

    Great hats! I really like the colorwork band patterns. I’ve been working on my first colorwork project and have found it fun.

  2. cherylmarieknits Says:

    Ear-flap hats are the “in” thing right now! Yours turned out great. Why not get started on your Christmas knitting EARLY this year and join me via blog for my Knitting Marathon Day. I am planning one per month and January’s is scheduled for Thursday, Jan. 20th at EST! I’m going to attempt to knit (mostly continuously) for 26.2 hours (of course I’ll sleep & eat) but the idea is to make PROGRESS on all my WiPs!

    Hope you’ll join me – just think what a great start you’d make on your Christmas gift list!

    Cheryl

    • klccreations Says:

      Hi Cheryl Marie, Thank you for stopping by my blog and taking time to comment. Your invitation to join your “Knitting Marathon Day” sound energetic. Good Luck! Thanks for the invitation, but I’m going to pass. Happy Knitting!


Leave a Reply

