Spring Bouquet Scissor Keeper and Fob

I finally made myself a scissor holder/keeper and fob!  I’ve been wanting to make one for quite a while.  I’ve got a couple of pairs of nice scissors that I want to protect and I love the look of putting them in a pretty cross stitch holder.  A scissor fob is such a simple and cute idea.  I’m surprised I’ve never made myself one before.  I guess I just didn’t find the right pattern and I didn’t have the beads to complete to project nicely.

For this project I used Ellen Maurer-Stroh’s Easter-99 free pattern (it is also known as Spring Bouquet).  I absolutely love all of her patterns!  She has got to be my all time favorite cross stitcher.  Many of her patterns are free, others are very reasonably priced.  I forgot to take a picture of the completed cross stitch before I made the scissor holder.  Sorry about that.  It turned out to be a 4″ square.

I added a few beads to the center of the flowers and sewed beads around the edge of the scissor fob.  The flower on the fob is a small one off the scissor holder.  On the back of the fob and the keeper I used the bee from the Pretty Primulas pattern.

The stitching was completed on 28ct. evenweave.  I lined the scissor keeper with a soft yellow 100% cotton flannel material.  Linda, from Iceland, has a nice tutorial on making a scissor keeper, if you are interested.  Thank you Linda.  I used a double strand of hand quilting thread for the larger beads on the scissor fob, which makes it nice and sturdy.  My scissor keeper turned out to measure 5″H x 4″W at the top.

I am really pleased with how this project turned out.  I love the little fob.  It is nice to have a place to stick my needle when it is not in use.  If you’ve been thinking of making a scissor keeper and/or fob for yourself, don’t wait as long as I did.  It is a fun project and I love the outcome!

4 Responses to “Spring Bouquet Scissor Keeper and Fob”

  1. litlaskvis Says:

    It is beautiful. I am so happy you could use my tutorial 🙂

  2. Sara Says:

    Lovely! And inspiring! I’m going out this weekend and getting some X-stitch supplies!


Leave a Reply

