Geometric Jewelry Tote

 Busy Week-end!  I was able pick up a couple of books at the library.  I can’t wait to get started on another author.  This series is about senior citizen detectives in Florida.  I’ll fill you in on the specifics another day, after I’ve read it.  This is just a teaser!

I was also able to get a few more remnants from JoAnn’s, which got me started on organizing my sewing room and most importantly my pile of material.  It then got me thinking about what to make next.  One thing leads to another and the next thing I know I’m sewing.

This project was inspired by my need for a place to keep my bracelets.  I wanted something that kept them from getting scratched and would be nice for traveling.  I’m also always looking for projects that are quick and easy to make and that make nice gifts.  I’ve made these before and have seen them at craft fairs all over.  I just never got around to making any for myself. 

You can find many different tutorials on the web on how to make these.  Each sewer has a little different tip or hint to give in guiding you through the process.  I like to read what everyone has to say, try a few ways and come to my own conclusion as to how to make it.  Here are the basics on how I made mine.

You need:  2 – 11″ circles of material.  One circle is for the outside and the other circle is the lining.  My outside fabric is cotton and I used a soft knit for my lining.  I traced a dinner plate onto freezer paper, cut it out and ironed the freezer paper circle onto my fabric to cut out. 

On your OUTSIDE fabric you need to make 2 buttonholes parallel to each other.  My buttonholes are 1 to 1 1/2″ in from the edge of the fabric.   This leaves enough room to sew the 2 circles right sides together.  Make sure to leave an opening for turning the fabric right side out.  Before turning right-side out clip around for a smooth edge.  Turn and iron flat.  Next, sew through both layers all the way around the circle on each end of the buttonhole to thread your ribbon or cord through.  You are now ready to thread your ribbon or cord through the buttonholes.  I used 2 – 30″ long pieces of ribbon.  Thread one piece through one buttonhole all around and tie together and then do the same through the other buttonhole.  You are finished!  A quick and easy project that make nice gifts.  Happy sewing!

Leave a Reply

