Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt Completed!

I am pleased to announce that my Disappearing 9 Patch quilt is completed! 

Update 7:  Quilt is finished!

It took a little bit to get the layers all together nice and smooth, pinned and quilted.  I do not have a fancy machine, but it works.  I sew on a Brother that I got at Costco a couple of years ago.  This is the first quilt I have completed using this machine.  I had to replace my old faithful Singer I had for a good 30 some years.  I was drooling and dreaming the other day about upgrading to a fancier machine, but that will be another post.  This machine did take some getting used to, but I managed.  My next quilt will be a little easier to make now that I have worked out most of the kinks.

Today was spent working on the binding.  It took 6 1/2 strips of fabric.  I learned something new about connecting the ends of your binding while constructing this quilt that I sure wish I knew sooner.  It sure would have been helpful.  There are many different techniques out there that hopefully come to the same conclusion, but I found Heather Mulder Peterson’s Binding Tips  to be the easiest and quickest.  And, it works!  You can’t tell where I started or stopped sewing on the binding thanks to her technique.  Heather’s blog is called Trends and Traditions.  Along with designing quilts, she is also a beautiful knitter.

I really like how it turned out.  It is not perfect, but it is perfect for my sewing room!  I am already planning my next quilt.

5 Responses to “Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt Completed!”

  1. kayleighl Says:

    Wow, that’s a beautiful quilt! I love the color combo. Nice work!

  2. Dianne B. in England Says:

    That’s very pretty! I love your colours, too. 🙂

  3. Janet Says:

    I’m finally catching up on blog reading. What a beautiful quilt! A great choice of fabrics and colors.


Leave a Reply

