Spring Basket Quilt Block

As I am thinking about making another quilt and which pattern to make, I decided to make up a quilt block of the Spring Basket Quilt Block that I like.  As I mentioned, it is in the Fons & Porter Keepsake Quilting Block Buster pamphlet

Directions are given for three block sizes; 6″, 9″ & 12″.  I made my block in the 6″ size.  I also added a 1″ border around the block. 

It took me a while to figure out how to make my triangles.  It has been a while since I’ve made them and I have to re-learn everything all over.  I used my Easy Angle to make the triangles.  there are so many ways to make triangles.  I’ve tried most of them over the years.  I don’t know why I decided on using the Easy Angle, but it worked out fine.  I found a site, My Quilt Genie, that might help in determining how many strips you need and how to cut your triangles.  It is a good thing this is just a test block because I need work on getting my points perfected.

I really like the colors.  I would like to make a quilt using the solid turquoise and the brown & turquoise print.  I also like the brown poke-a-dot basket.  I am thinking about making the blocks all a little different by making the flowers from different purple and pink material.  Maybe even changing up the browns in the basket.  I may not be able to do this though, as I think the brown print has been discontinued.  Don’t you just hate when that happens.

All in all, I love this pattern and I would like to make it into a quilt.   The finished size of my completed block is 8″.  Happy Quilting!

Leave a Reply

