The Beginning of the Spring Basket Quilt

Pinks

Purples
Basket – Brown
Sashing & Background Material

I’ve been given permission to post about my progress on the Spring Basket Quilt I am making.  The recipient has assured me she will not read my blog until it is finished and I present a finished quilt to her.  She knows and I am making her a quilt and she saw the first sample block I made and posted about, but she does not know what material I have picked out or if it will be a birthday gift or Christmas gift. 

I’m so glad I get to share with all of you what I am working on!  I didn’t know what I was going to post about if she hadn’t agreed not to peek!  It’s kinda like Christmas when I am busy making and creating for everyone and I don’t want to write about it because I want my gifts to be a surprise.  But then, I also want to share what I am doing with everyone else and hopefully give out ideas to others.

Ok, so here it goes.  Last Thursday I was able to go to JoAnn’s all by myself.  Which is unusual for me.  I usually go places with either my dh or dd and we always have other shopping to work into our trips to town.  They always tell me I don’t have to hurry and to take my time, but I know they are not enjoying waiting for me and I always feel rushed even if they don’t say anything.  So a trip to the store all alone was such a treat!  I spent 2 hours just walking around, looking, touching, thinking and planning.  I was in my own little world.  (A place where I spend most of my time).

I was looking for both the cocoa brown with teal  print for the sashing and the solid teal for the background of the blocks.  I did not find the print available on-line any more and I thought it had been discontinued.  I had told my dh that I didn’t think I was going to be able to find enough of that material to use and that I might have to buy something different.  But I did find it and I will have enough to use for all of the sashing!!  (Which I didn’t tell her.)  What I couldn’t find was the sold teal for the background.  What I did find was a teal print that I think works perfectly!  I even like it better than the sold teal. 

I also want to use the same material throughout for the basket.  I want a dark brown and I really liked the small piece of poke-a-dot print I used in my sample block.  When I went shopping, they did have a brown poke-a-dot, but the dots were a little bigger and brighter.  It just wasn’t what I was looking for.  I did find this other dark brown print and I think it will work very nice.

For the flowers, I want to use different purple and pink prints.  There are so many different shades of pink and purple!  I think I spent more time debating on the purples and pinks than in choosing the background and sashing material.   I’m very happy with my choices and I think they will work together nicely.  I’m not sure if you are aware of this, but if you click on any of my pictures you will see a larger clearer photo.  

I will need 120 – 6″ Spring Basket blocks to complete this quilt.  I guess I best get started!  Happy Quilting!

 
5 Responses to “The Beginning of the Spring Basket Quilt”

  1. Janet Says:

    I’m so glad we’ll be able to watch your progress on the quilt. You’ve picked lovely pinks and purples. And I especially like the basket material. I know what you mean about shopping “alone” time. Time seems to pass so quickly for me at the craft or fabric stores – but not so much for my husband. 🙂

  2. Pat Says:

    Oh, I love what you’ve picked. I’m especially drawn to that blue! Yesterday, I went into the quilt store to pick up the BOM that I’d missed when I was gone. I forgot DH was in the car as I decided to buy the rest of the fabrics for the quilt while they were still there! Oh, my goodness I was in a time warp–totally forgot he was waiting for me!

  3. AC Says:

    The fabric you’ve picked is gorgeous….I want to learn to quilt just looking at it.


Leave a Reply

