Shopping for a New Sewing Machine

Today I am going to check out sewing machines.  I’ve needed to upgrade for a while now.  I used a Singer for 30+ years that my husband and I bought when we first got married.  It was a great machine, stitched like a charm.  My mom sewed on a Singer and she could make anything!  When it was my turn to buy a machine I never even considered any other brand.  After many trips to have  my machine looked at, because I couldn’t get the tension to work properly, I gave up and bought an inexpensive Brother from Costco. 

The Brother I have is a nice machine for someone who sews occasionally, but I’m having tension problems.  I’ve tried to clean it the best I can, changed needles, re-threaded it, everything I can think of, and it still isn’t working right.  Very frustrating.  I would love to have this machine work properly so my granddaughters can have something to sew on when they come to visit.  I just don’t know what to do.  Taking it in would cost more than I paid for it.

This is why I am looking for a new machine.  I had to stop sewing altogether.  Not fun!  After researching machines on-line and reading a gazillion reviews, I’ve decided to check out the Janome.  I am torn between purchasing a sewing/quilting machine or a combo machine.  I do not sew clothing.  My mom was the seamstress.  I do not enjoy making sure clothing fits our imperfect bodies.  I enjoy creating crafty things, like bags and quilts.  It would be nice to be able to embellish my creations with embroidery.  But is it worth the extra money?  And, what would I be giving up that I would get with a nice sewing/quilting machine?  I love the long arm on the Horizon machine for quilting and a few of its other features.  I also am admiring the MC9700 –  drooling over the MC11K-SE but I can’t afford or justify $8,000.  I do not sew to earn money.  I am simply not that good.  I sew for enjoyment. 

I have no idea which machine I will bring home, if any.  I will go and look and try them out.  It should be a fun day!

2 Responses to “Shopping for a New Sewing Machine”

  1. Wanda Says:

    Have you chose a machine yet? My sister-in-law gave me her Janome when she bought a new one. I can’t remember which model but I know she had the other from the time my oldest son was around 9 or 10 and she just replaced it about a year or two ago. He is now 25. She loved it! I know others have had luck with the Bernita. I would love to purchase a machine new enough to go on line and find the embroidery patterns you can use but that’s not in the near future for me. I just bought a Brother Serger, read a lot of good reviews about it before I bought it but have not had time to really figure it out yet. I will soon, want to make some 18 inch doll clothes. I thought the serger would make it easier. We’ll see!

    Good luck to you whatever you decide.

    Wanda


Leave a Reply

