Updates and Stitcher’s Garden

I’ve been so busy sewing and having fun with my new sewing machine that I haven’t taken time to post.  I can’t tell you how much I love this machine.  It works like a dream and has so many cool features that make sewing easier and fun.  I am learning more and more every day.  I’ve also gone to a couple of sewing classes, which not only gets me out and involved with others that enjoy what I do, but it also helps me get to know my machine and all it can do too. 

I haven’t neglected my Spring Basket Quilt.  I’ve been working on those quilt blocks too and I will post an update on it soon. 

The first class I went to, other than the individual instruction to get to know how to use my machine, was the Janome MC Club class.  This is a free monthly class for those who own a Memory Craft machine.  Our group consisted of all skill levels of sewers.  This months project was learning to applique with our machines.   She asked us to bring in a store-bought bag to do an applique on.  This project will be another post another day. 

I also joined a group that is working on a BOM project, the Stitcher’s Garden.  As far as I know, the only way you can get the pattern for this quilt is by taking the classes through your LQS.  I went last night and picked up 2 blocks to work on.  I need one more block and I will be caught up with the group.  My instructor didn’t have any more packages ready and has to put one together for me.  I wasn’t the only newbie to the group, which is nice. 

The Stitcher’s Garden is an applique quilt project that uses many different feet and many different decorative stitches on my machine.  Which, is why I decided to join the group.  Besides, it is a beautiful quilt that I wanted to make anyway.  I like the idea that I can work on it slowly over the month and also be learning more and more on my new machine.   The finished quilt is 85″ x 93″.

As you can see, I’ve been busy “playing”.  The best kind of “playing’!  I hope you are having as much fun as I am.  Happy Sewing!

Leave a Reply

