Applique Flip Flops

I’m still here, I’ve just been busy sewing.  A couple of weeks ago I mentioned a class I took.  The class meets monthly and is free to all Janome Memory Craft sewing machine owners.  In the May class, we learned how to do applique. 

We were asked to bring in a store-bought bag to applique on.  Our instructor told us we were going to applique either flip flops or a hat.  I could not bring myself to purchase a bag when that is my thing – making bags.  What I did do was start a bag.  I decided on a hot pink bottom and light yellow poke-a-dots for the body of the bag.  I added hot pink handles.  I also made my lining with pockets, but I did not sew it in. 

In class we were given a few options to applique.  I liked the flip-flop idea and went with it.  I had brought material, but I found the flower material in the stores remnant pile.  Along with my remnant of green and the colors of the bag, I thought everything went together beautifully.  When I got home I finished up the bag.  I attached the lining and top stitched it down.  For my first machine applique project, I think it turned out really cute.

Leave a Reply

