Darling Dahlias and the Cucumber Tree

One of the books I read over the summer was The Darling Dahlias and the Cucumber Tree.  It is the first book in Susan Wittig Albert‘s new series set in Darling, Alabama in 1930. In this small southern town a group of ladies belonging to a garden club, named the Darling Dahlias, inherit the home and beautiful gardens, along with two cucumber trees of an elderly member when she dies. The ladies in this book are a delight. I’m sure we have all met someone just like  them at one time or another. 

When the drugstore make-up girl is found dead in a car accident and has been accused of stealing the car, the ladies are determined to clear her name and find out what really happened. They are also told a ghost inhabits their new club house and walks in their garden. If that is not enough, the town bank appears to be in trouble.

Something many of us enjoy are references to our own hobbies. In this book, many of these ladies knit, crochet, quilt and sew. All things I love. This was a very enjoyable book and I can’t wait to get my hands on the 2nd book in the series that came out this year, The Darling Dahlias and the Naked Ladies.  Happy reading!

2 Responses to “Darling Dahlias and the Cucumber Tree”

  1. Jeanna Huff Says:

    I’m a Susan Whittig Albert fan, too! I’m so glad to know there is another book out – I love to listen to audio books while I’m sitting at my sewing machine. The time just flies!

    • klccreations Says:

      Hi Jeanna, Yes, aren’t her books great! I’m always happy to share new books with others. That is how many times I happen upon new books myself. Happy sewing and reading! Kathryn


Leave a Reply

