Stitcher’s Garden – Month 1

Stitcher's Garden block 1 - mine

Stitcher’s Garden block 1 – group

 

 As I mentioned before, I am working on a BOM (block of the month) quilt through my LQS called the Stitcher’s Garden. It is an applique quilt using many different techniques, which is why I was interested in this particular quilt.  To join the group there was the initial fee for this class which included 5 yards of fabric to use as the background on most of the blocks. We then pay a small fee each month for that months directions and material to complete the block.

 I decided to make two quilts at the same time. One quilt is using the instructors choice of fabric and for the other quilt, I am deciding on what fabric to use.  The group quilt is using a beige fabric with a small design in it for the background material.  For my 5 yards of fabric, I purchased a bright white with a small design in it.  I wanted something that was very different from the other quilt. 

For these blocks  we cut the background fabric and batting 14 1/2″.  Then we quilted it per the directions and squared it up to 12 1/2″.  The applique was worked on top of the pre-quilted block. The borders were added at the end.    

I really like how the blocks turned out.  I used a number of the decorative stitches on my machine.  If you click on the pictures it will enlarge them enough for you to see some of the stitching.    This really is a fun project.  Happy stitching.  Kathryn

4 Responses to “Stitcher’s Garden – Month 1”

  1. AC Says:

    Wait, wait. You were worried about making curtains?? These are gorgeous!

    • klccreations Says:

      Thanks AC, For these blocks I followed a pattern and directions. When you make curtains you use a lot more material and you have no pattern. The quilt is really fun to make. I’m glad you like them. Kathryn

  2. Janet Says:

    Hi Kathryn. Glad to have you back from your summer break. Both quilt blocks are lovely. I look forward to seeing the next block in the series.


Leave a Reply

