Sewing Up a Kitchen – Part 2

Table Runner

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Trivit

 

Hot Pad

A couple of weeks ago I shared with you about how I wanted to make over my kitchen as simply and inexpensively as I could.  I started with making a valance over the kitchen window.  I then decided, being I had enough material leftover, to make a valance over the doorwall.  The rod was already up from the curtains that hung there when we bought the house.  The rod is wide, so I had to go at making this valance a little differently than the one over the kitchen window. 

I Wanted the valance to be 18″ long.  3 1/2″ is for the rod.  I cut 4 – 25″ lengths of material, matched the pattern, made french seams, and sewed the side seams by folding 1/4″ and then 1/2″.  For the top, I folded it down 1/4″ and then folded it down 4″ for the rod.  I hemmed it up and I was done.  It is exactly 2x’s the window size and fits perfectly!  Sorry I couldn’t show you a picture.  The sun kept shinning through and the picture wouldn’t show the valance.  I used 2.77 yards of fabric.  The total for both the kitchen window and the doorwall was 4.86 yards of fabric.  I had enough left over for hot pads, napkins, table runner and other little extras. My kitchen now looks a little brighter.  Happy sewing!  Kathryn

Note:  Sorry about the photos.  I couldn’t get them into the post the way I wanted them.  Not sure why.

Napkins

Leave a Reply

